Bison with enoki mushrooms Tacos

Living well in the 21st century. Limassol, Cyprus. An orange plate with the main dish - corn tacos, bison, green onions, lettuce, and yogurt.

This week I cooked a bison taco dish as I am trying to improve my cooking skills. I gave the recipe a little twist with bison and enoki mushrooms instead of chicken. This gave the dish an interesting flavor and texture. Experimenting and trying different dishes with various ingredients is my favorite thing; my food science side starts to work :). On my tight unemployed budget; I try to be creative with what I have in the fridge. Also, I get to treat myself with a good hearty home cooked meal yum.

Living well in the 21st century. Corn tacos in a plastic bag.

Tastes good; a little crumbly.

Living well in the 21st century. Limassol, Cyprus. Enoki mushrooms and bison in a glass container.

Made 12 oz ground bison and 7 oz enoki mushrooms; leftovers for the week :).

Living well in the 21st century. Limassol, Cyprus. Tamari in a green and black container.

I used tamari for the Enoki Mushrooms which gave it an interesting flavor. The recipe called for sesame oil but I had none in my cupboard. Feel free to change it up if you like. The recipe asked to cook the enoki mushrooms in sesame oil then tamari. Please let me know how it turned out 🙂

Living well in the 21st century. Limassol, Cyprus. Sour cream - cultured by Wallaby and cojita- grated chapala cheese.

Recipe 

Makes 6-7 servings 

Ingredients 

2 Tbsp tamari sauce – add as desired

4 -6 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil – add as desired

2 Tbsp aged red wine vinegar or any of your favorite vinegar for salad dressing

Dash of cumin – add as desired

Dash of turmeric – add as desired

Dash of paprika – adjust to your spice level 😉

3-4 whole allspice – add as desired

dash black peppercorns – add as desired

4- 5 sliced garlic cloves – add as desired – I love garlic 😉

1 – 3 wholegrain corn tacos

1 Tbsp of your favorite sour cream – my favorite is Wallaby cultured sour cream

dash cotija grated mexican cheese – add as desired

3-4 sliced carrots

1 peeled, sliced onions

1 green pepper peeled, deseeded, and cut into slices

1 yellow pepper peeled, deseeded, and cut into slices

1 red pepper peeled, deseeded, and cut into slices

10 fl oz of chicken bone broth

12 oz ground bison – 85% lean; 15% fat

7 oz enoki mushrooms

1 – 3 green onions

1 cup spring mix

1 cup sliced cherry tomatoes

Directions

  1. Slice all your peppers; onions; carrots; garlic and get them ready for cooking.
  2. In a large pot, on medium heat add 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil and saute garlic until golden. Add 12 oz ground bison & spices; cook until no visible pink is left.
  3. In a small pot, bring the chicken bone broth to a simmer before adding it to the cooked ground bison. This will shorten the time of cooking and improves the texture of the dish.
  4. Add the chicken broth to the ground bison after it is simmered; cook until the liquid thickens or to your desired consistency.
  5. Meanwhile, on medium heat add sliced garlic and saute until slightly golden, then add tamari sauce and cook enoki mushrooms until wilted. Feel free to follow the other recipe under references for a different version of cooking enoki mushrooms.
  6. Mix the enoki mushrooms with the ground bison.
  7. In a large saucepan, add extra virgin olive oil and saute the garlic until golden. Add all your sliced veggies & spices and stir fry them until you get the peppers to turn bright; carrots & onions soft.
  8. In a serving plate, prepare your spring mix; green onions & cherry tomatoes; add aged red wine vinegar & extra virgin olive oil.
  9. The dish is ready, and you can place one wholegrain taco on the plate and add the ground bison; some stir fry veggies; and sour cream & cheese on top of the taco.

To your health! 🙂

References

  1. Website: https://food52.com/recipes/34517-sauteed-enoki-mushrooms – a different version of enoki mushroom recipe

2. Website: https://www.livestrong.com/article/513028-how-to-cook-ground-bison-meat/

3. The professional chef (9th edition), the culinary institute of America. page 578 – 580. I used this cooking method to cook chicken bone broth with ground bison.

2 responses

  1. How do you think bison compares to ground beef?

    On Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 1:23 AM Living Well In The 21st Century wrote:

    > Muayyad Karadsheh posted: ” This week I cooked a bison taco dish as I am > trying to improve my cooking skills. I gave the recipe a little twist with > bison and enoki mushrooms instead of chicken. This gave the dish an > interesting flavor & texture. Experimenting and trying differ” >

    Liked by 1 person

    • Buffalo meat is drier than beef because it is leaner, and I noticed it cooks faster. I was trying to keep my stovetop on medium or it will be dry. I prefer chicken but Bison has many more benefits like a better ratio of omega-3: omega-6, less carbon footprint than beef, and no growth hormones or antibiotics.

      This article explains more about Bison vs beef:
      https://www.onnit.com/academy/bison-vs-beef/

      Thanks for reading 🙂
      Muayyad

      Like

Leave a comment