Gluten Free Bread attempt # 2

Gluten free bread is interesting to work with. I’m new to baking, and it’s my second time to try this product out. The first time was not successful at all. The middle part of the bread was uncooked. I tried placing the bread in the oven based on online suggestions, helped a little but still raw.

The second time was much better. The texture came out firm, moist, and airy. Not bad at all. Reading Salt, Fat, Acid, and Heat came to mind when I was baking. Thank you, Samin :)!  I added extra olive oil and salt during baking. I like how moist it turned out compared to the other failed attempt.

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - a picture of the package says, "Namaste - foods for everyone! gluten free - bread and roll mix" dairy free and nut free written on the front package with a picture of a sandwich with lettuce, tomato, and mayo.

Ordered it online; www.vitacost.com

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - 
nutrition label picture and ingredient on the side of the package. 

Nutrition label
calories 160 
Fat / lipides 1g     2%
Satured / satures  0g    0%
+ Trans / trans 0g
Cholesterol    0mg
Sodium  320mg      13%
Carbohydrate / Glucides  37g   12%
Fibre / Fibres  3g        12%
Sugar / Sucres 4g
Protein / Proteines  3g
 
Vitamin A / vitamine A   0%
Vitamin C / vitamine C   4%
Calcium                           0%
Iron/ Fer                          10%

Ingredients: Brown rice flour, sorghum flour, tapioca starch, arrowroot powder, rice syrup solids (rice syrup solids, rice protein, tocopherols), cane sugar, millet flour, salt, xanthan gum, and yeast packet. 

Ingredients: farine de riz brun, farine de sorgho, fecule de tapioca, arrow-root en poudre, solids de sirop de riz (solids de sirop de riz, proteine de riz, tocopherols), sucre de canne, farine de millet, sel, gomme xanthane et paquet de levure. 

Our facility is free from allergens listed on bottom
Notre installation est exempte des allergenes indiques au fond

Recipes & More!
Recettes et bien plus!

I love sorghum and brown flour in bread. The texture always turns out interesting. Also, this product has arrowroot which I also love. I’m not gluten free but I enjoy trying these products out. My other favorite product is Simple Mills because almond flour is a favorite of mine. I love almonds in everything :).

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - a picture of a wire rack with gluten free bread on top.

I didn’t have a wire rack so I had to get creative here 🙂 Also, I didn’t have a mixer so I used my whisk instead. Talk about working out your hand pheww. I got my workout for the day.

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - a picture of the gluten free bread cut in half, air bubbles in the middle when cut in half.

Air bubbles in the middle; fresh out of the oven.

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - picture of gluten free bread with air bubbles in the middle. The bread is placed on top of a ziplock bag.

The bread has less air bubbles as I was cutting it from the middle to the end of the bread.

I hope you’ll try this out and let me know how it turns out for you. Also, I would like to say that I passed a month with this “stay at home order”. I hope this passes soon. Seattle is phasing out and starting phase I. We’ll see how things go. My heart goes out to all the healthcare workers out there. Stay safe. Much love.

hearts | Free Hearts Clipart. Free Clipart Images, Graphics ...

Leave a comment