Poached egg and stay at home

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - gluten free bread with Sauerkraut, poached egg, sliced avocado, hummus and spinach on a blue plate.

What better time to cook egg than when you are stuck at home. I think egg can be eaten any time during the day; it’s easy and convenient. I used Salt, Fat, Acid, and Heat book suggestion on how to poach an egg. I’m not great at poaching egg, but it worked this time. If you have the book, it’s on page 304. I was limited on ingredients, so I had to get creative. I used spinach, hummus, sliced avocado, and Sauerkraut. I didn’t have the ingredients to make the sauce. I just used a little mustard on the egg. I’m a big fan of mustard vs. Mayonnaise. So, get your creative juices going. You’ll surprise yourself 😊

Here is how you poach an egg:

1- Break an egg slowly and place it in a coffee cup, ramekin, or a round container.

2- Place a small plate with a thin cloth or napkin and have it ready before the egg is done.

3- Place 2-inches of water in a saucepan over medium heat then reduce to simmer. Also, add a splash of vinegar and salt. When bubbles appear place the egg in the water. If the bubbles disappear turn up the heat; don’t let it boil. This was a challenge for me, I had to increase the heat when the egg was in the boiling water. I went ahead and decreased the heat a bit. Felt like the water was going to boil over. Make sure you see bubbles, but at the same time, don’t let it boil.

4- Slowly place the egg in the water when you see bubbles form. Transfer the egg from the container you are using to a slotted spoon. This will help you control the egg while it is in the boiling water. Try to place the egg where bubbles started for best results.

5- After 3 minutes, take the egg out, and place it on the ready plate with a thin cloth or napkin. Let it rest for a few minutes before transferring it to the dish.

6- Transfer the poached egg to your ready dish with toast and your other ingredients. Enjoy!

Poaching an egg is 90% technique, 10% ingredients. I mess up all the time. So, it’s okay if it doesn’t work the first time. It’s all about practice. Like they say, practice makes perfect.

Leave a comment