Injera

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - a bag of toasted injera bread.
Toasted injera bread

Toasted injera bread has been an addiction as a snack, bread or crouton substitution, or an addition to a meal such as a salad. Also, great substitute for crackers with cheese. There is an Ethiopian store next to where I live, and I buy two to three bags. The energy it gives me to get through the day is great. The grain is healthy and is high in iron. The following article gives more information on this grain:

Teff Flour: Uses, Nutrients, and Benefits (healthline.com)

The bread is made of teff flour and it has a spongy texture & mouthfeel with a sour taste from fermentation. Also, once you open the bag; a sour smell is given off by the bread. This makes me want to eat it even more!

Washington State has a huge population of Ethiopian and Eritreans. I’ve been lucky to try the cuisine, which I find healthy and light.

Living well in the 21 st century - Limassol, Cyprus. A picture of teff bread with a mixture of vegetables, and meat.
Image credit: Julia

The injera bread is used with the main entrée. There are vegetarian, meat, or vegan options.

Injera bread has a short shelf life – about a week or so. So make sure to buy for two. I haven’t seen a place that sells the bread for one person. I’ve found injera toasted which works for one person. I usually go with that option because I live in a single household.

Leave a comment