Brownies, and sharing the love ❤️

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - Baking pan with a brown baked brownie with dark black cacao nibs.

This weekend I had a craving for brownies! I looked through my freezer and pantry to see what I can experiment with. I found a couple of items that sounded interesting, and wanted to see how the taste, flavor, and texture will turn out. Remember, taste + aroma + mouthfeel (texture is part of mouthfeel) = flavor from my previous posts. 

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - a picture with two eggs, 1 cup coconut sugar, kerrygold pure irish butter, intrigue cocoa beans package, 3/4 cup tiger nut flour, and baking powder.
Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - A picture of Tcho roasted cacao nibs container, a bottle of pure vanilla, a package of maldon sea salt flakes, and baking powder.

Mise en place is a French culinary phrase (putting in place), used to prep ingredients before cooking. I always have the ingredients ready before cooking. Makes the cooking process easy and fast.

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - picture of opened  Kerrygold -pure irish butter unsalted net wt 8 oz (227g).
I’m a big a fan of Kerrygold butter in baking & cooking

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - a picture of grain-free brownies recipe; 1/2 cup butter, melted or butter alternative, 1 cup coconut sugar, 2 eggs, large, 1 tsp vanilla, 3/4/ cup pamela's tiger nut flour, 1 cup cocoa powder, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 tsp pamela's baking powder, 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips, or alternative. Yield: one 9-inch pan of brownies. 
Directions: preheat oven to 350F. Grease a 9-inch square baking pan. Melt butter and mix together with coconut sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Add dry ingredients and mix to incorporate. Scoop into greased pan. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool completely before cutting and removing brownies from pan.
Recipe above from the tigernut flour package.
Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - a picture of package of tiger nut flour - extra fine - organic + grain-free + gluten-free - non-gmo + vegan + prebiotic + fiber + iron. Arrows towards the package that say, " paleo, not a nut! it is a root vegetable."
This is an interesting flour; it’s actually a root vegetable not a nut. I didn’t really notice it in the brownie. The cocoa beans, nibs, and molasses taste of the coconut sugar overpowered the flour flavor.
Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - two brownie pieces on a white small plate.

Brownie had a grainy texture & mouthfeel – I added extra cocoa nibs because I love chocolate! feel free to add less or more depending on your taste. The taste was amazing! I loved the sweetness of the chocolate & coconut sugar. It was not overpowering. A little bitter because I used cocoa nibs & beans. The coconut sugar gave a molasses taste to the brownie. The aroma was amazing of course! brownies smell spreading all over my place at 10am is a great thing 🙂 don’t you think? I had to share it with my landlady and roommate to cheer them up. spreading some love, you know. My landlady thought the texture of the brownie is crunchier. I’m guessing the cocoa beans offered a crunchy texture, while the nibs provided moistness for the brownie. I also paired it with green tea, and loved it. You can choose your beverage preference. I’m sure everyone has a certain beverage they like with their dessert. What’s yours? comment below? 

Living well in the 21st century - Limassol, Cyprus - a picture of a package that says, "intrigue chocolate co. - cocoa beans hulls- estb 2006. Tcho package that says, "Tcho roasted cacao nibs net wt 7.8 oz (222 g).
These two cocoa brands are great in baking if you like a grainy, crunchy texture in your brownie

Leave a comment